Springs Wins State...Again

MADISON, Wis (WBAY)- Madison is becoming the home away from home for the Fond du Lac St. Mary’s Springs football team. On Thursday, Springs (14-0) won its seventh championship with a 35-12 victory over Iola-Scandinavia in the Division 6 championship game Thursday at Camp Randall Stadium.

The T-Birds broke into the scoring column first with a 1-yard plunge by Bryce Huettner. The two-point, point-after failed. The Ledgers took the lead at 7-6 on a 39-yard scoring pass from Mitch Waechter to Cade Christensen. Iola-Scandinavia answered with a 7-yard scoring romp by Huettner to take a 12-7 lead, but the Waechter to Christensen combination struck again with two seconds remaining in the first half on a 7-yard pass play. It was the beginning of 28 unanswered points for Springs.

In the second half, Waechter ran in from five yards out for a 21-12 Ledgers lead, and Clay Schueffner added a 5-yard scoring run of his own in the final moments of the third quarter. The final scoring play of the game featured the combo of Waechter and Christensen again, but with a twist. On a trick play, Christensen passed back to Waechter, who raced in from 38 yards to complete the scoring.

Christensen caught three passes for a game-high 78 yards and a pair of scores, and Schueffner rushed for a team-high 88 yards and a touchdown. Marcus Orlandoni added 77 yards on the ground and Waechter picked up 60 and a touchdown. Waechter completed 8-of-12 passes for 142 yard and a pair of touchdowns. Schueffner led the defense with 14 tackles.

Huettner was stellar in defeat for the T-Birds. He rushed for a game-high 213 yards and two touchdowns. Connor Kurki connected on 2-of-6 passes for 33 yards. Ben and Will Cady accounted for the team’s two receptions. Ben Cady and Alex Sharp led the T-Birds’ defense with 14 and 13 tackles, respectively.

The Ledgers’ seventh title ties them for the most of any member school with Edgar, Lancaster and Stratford. Iola-Scandinavia finishes runner-up for the third time in its third appearance in the State title game. Springs also won 8 private school state championships as part of the WISAA, before it merged with the WIAA.