New Member For Horizon League

GREEN BAY, WI (WBAY)- A source tells WBAY Sports that an announcement on a new school joining the Horizon League will be announced this week, possibly as soon as Wednesday. According to a report last Friday in the Detroit News, IUPUI is the team invited to join the Horizon League. Currently, the league is comprised of Green Bay, Milwaukee, Detroit, Oakland, Wright State, Youngstown State, Illinois-Chicago, Northern Kentucky and Cleveland State.

Indiana University-Purdue University of Indianapolis is currently a member of the Summit League. It competes in 7 men’s sports and 9 women’s sports. The Jaguars men’s basketball team finished 14-18 last season, finishing with an RPI of 217, which was better than 5 current Horizon League teams.

IUPUI’s addition would return the Horizon League to being a ten team conference after Valparaiso left to join the Missouri Valley Conference. League commissioner Jon Lecrone told the Detroit News that further expansion is the plan, potentially adding as many as 4 new members in the future.