Wisconsin gets federal approval for Economic Opportunity Zones

Published: Apr. 9, 2018 at 9:15 PM CDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Federal officials have approved Gov. Scott Walker's request to establish new economic opportunity zones (EOZs) in 44 Wisconsin counties.

Walker's office announced Monday that U.S. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin signed off on the request.

The governor asked to create 120 economic opportunity zones, a designation under the new federal tax law designed to spur development. The program creates a tax incentive for businesses and individuals that invest in the zones. It was the maximum number a state could ask for.

"These designations represent ten years of potential investment into these communities," a statement from the governor's office reads.

The city of Milwaukee will have the most zones at 34. The Madison area will be second with 10.

Northeast Wisconsin counties received a total of 19:

Brown - 4 (Ashwaubenon 1, Green Bay 3)

Dodge - 1 (Beaver Dam)

Fond du Lac - 1 (Fond du Lac)

Green Lake - 1 (Berlin)

Manitowoc - 2 (Manitowoc 1, Two Rivers 1)

Marinette - 2 (Crivitz 1, Marinette 1)

Outagamie - 1 (Appleton)

Shawano - 1 (Shawano)

Sheboygan - 2 (Sheboygan 2)

Winnebago - 4 (Menasha 1, Neenah 1, Oshkosh 2)

WBAY contributed to this report.

Latest News

Latest News