Two local districts get thousands for school security upgrades

By  | 

WISCONSIN DELLS, Wis. (WBAY) - Some local schools are getting grants from the state for school safety improvements.

On Wednesday, Wisconsin Attorney General Brad Schimel announced a list of grant recipients for the Wisconsin Department of Justice School Safety Grant program.

Here are the local recipients:

Crivitz School District- $20,000

Wautoma Area School District - $84,435

Kewaskum School District - $106,347

The Wautoma Area School District says the money will allow an overhaul of the safety plan. They intend to harden school entrances and windows at the district's four schools.

"It is very important that we keep our children and everybody safe," said Wautoma Police Chief Paul Weiss. "It's just getting a little out of hand and we've got to [put] a stop to it."

The Wautomoa Area School District has one school resource police officer that it shares with another district. But this grant will add another layer of protection on each of its school's entrances.

All windows that aren't in classrooms will be shatterproof. (Classroom windows cannot be shatterproof in case of a fire.)

"I actually personally measured glass that somebody could get in, in each building," said Jeff Kasuboski, district administrator. "And I couldn't believe the amount of windows and doors that we have in each building."

The schools will get new public address systems, medical kits and panic buttons to notify law enforcement.

The goal is to make it more difficult for intruders to get in a building. In a worst case scenario, communication will be easier.

"Our own kids, not so concerned because we have good relationships with our kids so its pretty easy to actually," says Kasuboski. "Kids will tell us if something's going to happen or if something's threatening to have something happen, but those outliers are the ones we really want safety for."

The district anticipates improvements will be finished by Sept. 1.

In response to the deadly school shooting in Parkland, Florida, the Wisconsin legislature passed a bill creating the Office of School Safety. Gov. Scott Walker signed it into law and announced schools would be able to apply for a portion of $100 million in school safety grant money through the office.

Click here for more information on the state's Office of School Safety.