Statements on Paul Ryan's decision

Office of the Speaker
Office of the Speaker(WJRT)
Published: Apr. 11, 2018 at 3:27 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

After House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-Janesville) officially announced his decision to seek re-election -- and even moments before -- reactions to the news were coming in to our newsroom inbox from politicians and organizations friendly to the Speaker and his political opposition. These are their complete, unedited written statements, with the most recent statements first.

Wisconsin AFL-CIO
State Representative David Bowen (D-Milwaukee)
National Right to Life president Carol Tobias
U.S. Congressional candidate Beau Liegeois
America's Voice executive director Frank Sharry
Giffords executive director Peter Ambler, (Rep. Gabby Giffords gun safety organization)
State Senator Alberta Darling (R-River Hills)
Democratic National Committee Chairman Tom Perez
Governor Scott Walker
Republican National Committee Chairwoman Ronna McDaniel
Wisconsin Assembly Speaker Robin Vos (R-Rochester)
U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisconsin)
U.S. Representative Mike Gallagher (R-Green Bay)
State Representative John Nygren (R-Marinette)
Republican Party of Wisconsin Chairman Brad Courtney
NextGen America President Tom Steyer
Democratic Governors Association
NARAL Pro-Choice America national communications director Kaylie Hanson Long
One Wisconsin Now executive director Scot Ross
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 494 business manager Dean A. Warsh
Democratic Party of Wisconsin Chair Martha Laning
State Assembly Majority Leader Jim Steineke (R-Kaukauna)
U.S. Senator Ron Johnson (R-Wisconsin)