Packers retain four more coaches from McCarthy's staff

GREEN BAY, Wis. (WBAY) - The Green Bay Packers announced Thursday the team has retained four coaches from Mike McCarthy’s staff a year ago.

The list includes defensive line coach Jerry Montgomery and running backs coach Ben Sirmans and promoted Jason Simmons to defensive backs coach and Ryan Downard to assistant defensive backs coach.

Five coaches have now been retained from last year’s staff after Packers Head Coach Matt LaFleur decided to keep defensive coordinator Mike Pettine.

ESPN’s Rob Demovsky reported Thursday the Packers have hired Shawn Mennega as the team’s special teams coach. Mennega spent 2018 as Vanderbilt’s special teams coordinator. Prior to the he spent seven seasons with the Cleveland Browns as the team's assistant special teams coach.

As of Thursday the Packers staff looks like this:
Matt LaFleur – Head Coach
Nathaniel Hackett – Offensive Coordinator
Luke Getsy – Quarterbacks Coach
Justin Outten – Tight Ends Coach
Ben Sirmans – Running Backs Coach
Adam Stenavich – Offensive Line Coach
Alvis Whitted – Wide Receivers Coach

Mike Pettine – Defensive Coordinator
Jerry Montgomery – Defensive Line Coach
Kirk Olivadotti – Inside Linebackers Coach
Jason Simmons – Defensive Backs Coach
Mike Smith – Outside Linebackers Coach

Shawn Mennenga – Special Teams Coach
*According to ESPN’s Rob Demovsky