More Wisconsin schools receive safety grants

GREEN BAY, Wis. (WBAY) - More Wisconsin schools have received safety grants from the state Department of Justice.

Wisconsin Attorney General Brad Schimel stopped at Green Bay's Notre Dame Academy on July 10 to announce the latest round of grants.

The state established an Office of School Safety in response to the deadly shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Florida. The legislature established a $100 million School Safety Plan to distribute grants to schools.

The grant money can be used for improving building safety and training faculty in case of a shooting or other attack.

Part of that training is Adverse Childhood Experiences and Trauma Informed Care. That's about recognizing kids who've experienced trauma and getting them resources to cope.

These schools were among the most recent grant recipients:

Central Wisconsin Christian Schools (Waupun) - $19,882
Goodman-Armstrong Creek School District - $40,073
Immanuel Evangelical Lutheran School (Greenville) - $20,075
Kimberly Area School District - $180,000
Menominee Indian School District - $55,817
New Holstein School District - $59,993
Notre Dame Academy - $22,700
Peshtigo School District - $59,997
Saint Ignatius of Loyola Catholic School - $18,782
Saint Mary Catholic School (Mayville) - $9,255
Saint Matthew Grade School (Campbellsport) - $21,500
Sheboygan Area School District - $492,032
St. John Nepomucene School (Little Chute) - $17,140
St. Paul Lutheran School (Luxemburg) - $47,062
Syble Hopp School - $19,312
Washington Island School District - $36,760
Winneconne Community School District - $51,997

Click here for the full list of grant recipients.