Kimberly claims 5th consecutive title, wins 70th consecutive game

MADISON, Wis. (WBAY) - Kimberly beat Sun Prairie in come-from-behind fashion to claim its 5th consecutive WIAA state championship winning its 70th consecutive football game.

The Papermakers scored 27 unanswered points to defeat the Cardinals 27-7 for the Division 1 crown.

Kimberly fumbled on their opening possession, leading to a Sun Prairie score.

But after trailing 7-0, Kimberly got it going.

RB John Nett tied the score with a 25-yard touchdown run in the 2nd quarter. QB

Alec Rosner romped 50 yards for Kimberly's first lead at 14-7 in the 3rd quarter.

WFCA Offensive Player of the Year D.J. Stewart put the icing on the cake with another 3rd quarter touchdown run.

They put victory even further out of reach for Sun Prairie with a three-yard touchdown in the final 90 seconds of the game.

We welcome comments and civil discussions. powered by Disqus